Indy 500: Pagenaud holds off Rossi for win


Simon Pagenaud is the 2019 Indianapolis 500 winner.

Pagenaud passed Alexander Rossi with less than two laps to go and held on for the victory in the 103rd running of the Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Takuma Sato finished just behind the two leaders while Josef Newgarden and Will Power – the defending champion – rounded out the top five.

Rossi had a setback during a pit stop on lap 138 as he was stalled for 23 seconds while his team struggled to fuel up his car. Rossi was visibly frustrated at his crew.

Rossi, however, recovered from the miscue and took a late lead before he was overtaken by Pagenaud.

Graham Rahal and Sebastien Bourdais were involved in a crash with a little more than 20 laps to go. Neither driver was happy afterward.

Helio Castroneves – who was going for his fourth career win at the Indianapolis 500 – placed a distant 18th.

Here are the complete 2019 Indianapolis 500 results

  1. Simon Pagenaud
  2. Alexander Rossi
  3. Takuma Sato
  4. Josef Newgarden
  5. Will Power
  6. Ed Carpenter
  7. Santino Ferrucci
  8. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  9. Tony Kanaan
  10. Conor Daly
  11. James Hinchcliffe
  12. James Davison
  13. Ed Jones
  14. Spencer Pigot
  15. Matheus Leist
  16. Pippa Mann
  17. Scott Dixon
  18. Helio Castroneves
  19. Sage Karam
  20. J.R. Hildebrand
  21. Jack Harvey
  22. Oriol Servia
  23. Marcus Ericsson
  24. Jordan King
  25. Charlie Kimball
  26. Marco Andretti
  27. Graham Rahal
  28. Felix Rosenqvist
  29. Zach Veach
  30. Sebastien Bourdais
  31. Kyle Kaiser
  32. Ben Hanley
  33. Colton Herta

Source link

Leave a Reply