Uncapped New Zealand pair Mitchell, Tickner named in T20 squad



549   //   

30 Jan 2019, 10:05 IST
All-rounder Daryl Mitchell

New Zealand have included uncapped pair Daryl Mitchell and Blair Tickner of their squad forward of the upcoming Twenty20 collection in opposition to India.

All-rounder Mitchell, 27, and paceman Tickner, 25, may make their debuts within the three-match T20 collection, which will get underway in Wellington on February 6.

Tickner will be a part of the Black Caps – who’re trailing India 3-Zero heading into the ultimate two video games of their one-day worldwide contest – for the third match in Hamilton on February 10, changing Lockie Ferguson.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson additionally returns following the T20 collection in opposition to Sri Lanka instead of Henry Nicholls, whereas Doug Bracewell has retained his place within the squad.

“Each Daryl and Blair have been rewarded for the robust kind they’ve produced in home cricket,” New Zealand selector Gavin Larsen mentioned.

“They have been there or thereabouts for many of the season and each featured in our NZ A brief-format groups.

“Daryl has proven his worth with the bat and in addition tends to bowl at some powerful occasions for the Knights, and Blair is well-respected amongst his team-mates and opponents alike as somebody who bowls a heavy ball at good tempo.”


New Zealand T20 squad: Kane Williamson (C), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson (Video games one & two), Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner (Recreation three).

Fetching extra content material…

Supply hyperlink